Makeup Revolution: Fortune Favors the Brave

image

Ever since Makeup Revolution released its new makeup palette in collaboration with Britishbeautyblogger last year, I was so excited after I watched a video of swatches on Makeup Revolution’s YouTube page of Fortune Favors the Brave. All of the eyeshadows seemed vibrant, highly pigmented, and swatched like a colorful dream. I held back on buying it until this year. I’d read some reviews on Ulta’s website that said that some of the eyeshadows were not good quality, yet other people raved about the pigmentation. So, naturally, I was curious and needed to find out the quality of the eyeshadows myself.

Before work one day, I popped into Ulta to buy some tea tree oil by The Body Shop, and the Maybelline: Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser. While browsing, I wandered past Makeup Revolution’s aisle, and circled around the store at least five times before deciding to go back and pick up Fortune Favors the Brave. While $18.00 seems kind of pricey for a makeup palette in the drugstore brand section of Ulta, luckily I brought a coupon with me to get $3.50 off.

image

Sadly, after testing out the eyeshadows through swatches, and also wearing them throughout the week at work, I was left with nothing but disappointment. A lot of the metallic shades felt very dry and chalky, yet a few had decent pigmentation. All of the matte eyeshadows on the top two rows had difficulty showing up when applied and were super dry, but surprisingly the mattes on the third row down were soft and a couple of them were decently pigmented. None of the eyeshadows swatched as pigmented as they did on Makeup Revolution’s YouTube video. In real life, they were a lot lighter in pigmentation, and not as saturated.

image

So, is the palette worth the $18.00? Unfortunately, in my opinion, my hopes were let down. While the packaging is beautifully done, and the colors of the eyeshadows look gorgeous when you open the palette, it doesn’t perform as well as it looks. The matte eyeshadows took lots of time to build up pigmentation and ended up fading on me after four hours of wear at work. While the metallics had a bit of staying power, they started to fade throughout the day as well. In comparison, the Makeup Revolution: Iconic 3 Redemption Eyeshadow Palette had better quality metallic eyeshadows, and a better formula of matte eyeshadows, compared to Fortune Favors the Brave.

image

image

image

image

 

final logo

FTC: Not sponsored.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. This palette looks amazinggg!!!

    Have a lovely day,
    xx Kris

    https://dreamingofpink.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thank you, though I wish the palette had been a bit better quality with the eyeshadow formula. It didn’t work out as well as I had hoped.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like MR can be so hit and miss when it comes to eye shadows. Even in one palette you can get a few amazing shades and a few terrible ones. Great post, I will definitely not be purchasing this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely! If a palette has more misses, rather than good quality eyeshadows, then it’s something you should pass on.

      Like

  3. irishrosebeauty says:

    Totally agree with you, I’ve been meaning to do a review of this for ages but its never used to it’s completely forgotten about 😦 it’s so disappointing!! Which is such a shame because the palette itself looks beautiful 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. irishrosebeauty says:

      So*

      Like

    2. I know, right? I was in awe of those marbled eyeshadows when I saw it. I really wish it had been better.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That Miss Bong says:

    My fav palette💕

    Like

    1. Mine too! I’m in love with the metallic eyeshadows! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.