DIY Summer Manicure

image

 

The first time I went to a nail salon, was when I got my silver chrome nails back in March when I visited my best friend. While I loved the whole experience of getting my nails done, enjoyed learning about gel nails, and marveled over the reveal of the silver chrome…shelling out $35.00 was a lot. Out of 365 days a year, I usually paint my nails about three or four times. I’m really not a big fan of waiting for nail polish to dry, or inhaling the smell of nail polish, not being able to eliminate the little bubbles that form when the nail polish sets, or not being able to do daily activities during the whole process of drying.

Last week, I took a trip to Target. While my main mission was to buy some makeup remover, a new concealer, and moisturizer, I ended up buying a lip mask, oatmeal scrub/mask, and these press-on nails. But that’s what happens, doesn’t it? You end up going shopping for one thing, but end up buying other things. Next to the regular nail polishes, I found lots of boxes hanging above that ranged from your typical fake nails with glue, to these press-on manicure nails.

My first thought when I saw the imPRESS PRESS-ON MANICURE nails was, “Is this really going to work?” Press-on nails sound like sticker nails, and I doubt that they’re going to last through washing your hands. They’re probably going to fall off. Regardless, being the makeup/beauty junkie that I am, I bought them because they were $5.99, and I loved the light blue and silver accent nails. All I have to say is that they’re the best $5.99 I have ever spent.

19379434_1243666405762694_4341887945398026240_n

The trick to making them look more natural, like you just painted your nails, is to use an emery board to file the squared edges and make them rounded. Cut off any excess underneath afterwards with a nail clipper. The finished product ends up looking like you got your nails done professionally at a salon, rather than doing them yourself. And the best part? They stick on easily with a sticker that’s gel-like that stays on even being exposed to water, last up to a week, and won’t chip as easily. The only two things that you need to be careful with, is not getting your nails caught in your hair (which happens with the top of the nail near the cuticle), and cleaning underneath the nail if you’re cooking, or using face masks throughout the week.

To remove the nails after use, all you do is pry them off starting with the sides. You can also use a nail polish remover to help if you wish. While it leaves a bit of gel glue on the nails, it comes off and doesn’t damage your nails as much as regular nail glue would. Just make sure to follow up with cuticle oil afterwards to moisturize the cuticles and skin around the nails.

 

Not Your Cup of Fashion 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

