2017: A Year in Review of Makeup & Fashion

There’s something about sitting down at your computer to blog write that feels like visiting an old friend, after so much time has gone by, to catch up on everything. Even though things have changed in between, you just pick up right where you left off last time…

2017 was definitely a busy year filled with lots of time at work, visiting friends, and going to my first dress fitting, bridal shower, and bachelorette party for my best friend who is getting married this week. We’ve been best friends since our high school days and have shared happy memories together, but have also gotten each other through the hard times in our lives as well. I have a feeling I may be one of those people who starts crying at the wedding, which I’m going to try my best not to, since I’m one of her bridesmaids. On second thought, maybe I’ll pass on that mascara…

26241741_1911815558846566_2133558458_n

Speaking of makeup, last year I ended up trying out a bunch of products, which, in the long run, helped me to decide the makeup I’m bringing with me this weekend for the wedding. I tried to find some alternatives to some of the products to a few of the prestige brands I’ve used in the past like Benefit, and also Smashbox.

Essence: Make Me Brow reminds me so much of Benefit’s Gimme Brow, but slightly darker in pigment, and a bit thicker in formula. It’s such a great brow product, and it’s compact enough for me to take on my trip. Milani’s Eyeshadow Primer is also a good makeup pick, and I love that it’s a nude color that helps even out the skin tone on the eyelids, and does a decent job of keeping eyeshadow intact throughout the day, which I’ll definitely need since the bridal party is going to be in so many photos.

When I looked up the Milani Prime Shield Face Primer and ordered it from Ulta, I was excited because I thought it would be just like the Smashbox: Photo Finish Foundation Primer, which I absolutely love! While the product has the same appearance, it has a slightly watered down formula, though it does create a smooth base for makeup. The only problem was, after testing it out for two weeks straight, my skin ended up breaking out a lot. So, if you have sensitive skin like mine, then you may want to pass on this one.

Lastly, the Covergirl: Simply Powder Foundation I had higher hopes for, but didn’t work out as well as I had hoped. In combination with the Milani Primer, it was not a good pairing, and parts of the powder clumped on my face. Without the primer, and just applying to bare skin, the foundation powder worked a lot better, and had a light coverage. It wasn’t one of my favorites like I thought it would be.

25012502_165287637412619_137243717143625728_n

Something else that I discovered last year, was just how many mini makeup products under $13 that Nordstrom.com carries ranging from concealers, lipsticks, brow products, and bronzers. For all of my beauty junkies, if you love Urban Decay, Benefit, MAC, Clinique, Laura Geller, and Jouer, then you should definitely check it out if you want to try something new.

I ended up ordering Urban Decay’s Naked Skin Weightless Complete Coverage Concealer in Light Neutral. It does a fantastic job at covering any dark circles, or redness on the skin, and has a light to medium coverage that doesn’t crease under the eyes when it dries. One thing I did realize after the second day of using it, was that it cannot be worn on its own because it oxidizes just a little and can have a slight orange tint if it isn’t set with a foundation or powder immediately. With a little practice, I’ve learned to quickly blend it in with a beauty blender, put on foundation, and then set it with my Maybelline: Matte + Poreless powder.

25015951_1928485924070058_991782131321536512_n

Moving onto fashion, one of the things that I started to do last year, and want to continue into this year with my Instagram, and blog, is to incorporate more fashion-related posts. Whether that is through outfits, accessories, or styling tips. You’ll probably see me switching things up this year by actually wearing some outfits, experimenting with different styles of clothes, or taking pictures that are at different angles, and not just flat lays. Though, you may see a few flat lays here and there, because who doesn’t love a good one?

26552881_1911814982179957_1738897742_n

26553136_1911815128846609_480223066_n

One of the things I enjoyed the most last year was adding clothing that was more simplistic to my wardrobe, because it can easily become a basic staple that you can style in so many ways. I have to admit, I was really intimidated to try wearing a bomber jacket. I didn’t think I could pull off that look. And then, one day I was shopping at the mall, found a really cute bomber jacket that reminded me of a windbreaker, and thought that it wouldn’t work, but that I should just try it on anyways. Wrong. It did work! And it also led me to try out Keds canvas shoes for the first time, too! If you’ve ever wanted to try out a new trend, but aren’t sure if it will work for you, it’s still worth giving a chance. You’ll never know unless you give it a try!

26648269_1911814885513300_1078842648_n

As for accessories last year, I did experiment with trying chokers, which was an interesting attempt to say at the very least. I haven’t yet decided if I love them, or can’t stand wearing them for more than an hour… Though, I do love how there are so many cute designs. So, this year, I may have to give choker necklaces another go. If you guys have any tips on what outfits work well with chokers, definitely let me know!

To wrap things up, 2017 was a year to try new things from makeup to fashion. I learned that change is good, and finding your own voice, even if it’s different than everyone else’s, is important. I know that 2018 is going to hold just as much potential as every other year before it, and I’m excited to come up with new content for Not Your Cup of Fashion.

 

Wishing you all a Happy New Year!

 

final logo

FTC: Not sponsored.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.