Write When You’re Inspired

I stared at the blank computer screen in front of me, and realized how daunting coming up with ideas to write about was. The blank page held so many opportunities for creativity, but also echoed a silence that needed to be filled with words, pictures, anything! If you’re like me, you have those days where you strive to be perfect. You write something, only to rewrite it a dozen times more, and for some reason, you’re still not satisfied.

I remember in one of my college English classes a long time ago, our teacher had us do an automatic writing session. We were to type without editing a single word, sentence, or punctuation. Not being able to backspace to edit was a horrifying feeling. At the same time, when you lose control and just let things happen, sometimes your greatest creative ideas come to life.

Since my last article, I had an inner struggle with myself about what to write about next. While I had a great weekend last week with my Mom celebrating her birthday, I didn’t think that writing about cake, shopping, and presents, and dinner was what I wanted my next post to be about. And that’s okay. That’s completely okay.

At the beginning, I remembered feeling this pressure that I had to write several articles a week, the pictures all had to be perfect quality, and I wanted to try to stay on trend. There were times when I would write full articles and save them as rough drafts, only to not publish them and delete them. Some of you may wonder why would I delete those drafts? I decided to let them go because I felt that my heart was not really in the writing.

If you have ever written something half-heartedly, then you will understand what I mean. When you write, you just have to be you. You deserve to take the time to figure out what you want to write about, and write about something that truly inspires you.

Not Your Cup of Fashion

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This resonates with me, sometimes my heart isn’t into what I am righting. So, I’ve shifted my blog into focusing more on things that matter more to me and bringing awareness to areas people don’t normally discuss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is great. 🙂 It is definitely worth it when you write about subjects that you are passionate about, and are able to share that same passion with others.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely get that. Especially when you have planned posts… I usually am not that inspired when I sit in front of the computer and start writing. So I don’t push myself to post on specific days anymore. And I carry around a note book so that I can write anytime I’m inspired and not just when I’m sitting in front of the computer… xoxo Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can definitely relate to the not posting on certain days. I used to run a daily quote blog with life stories that related to the quotes, but it became overwhelming, and I decided to put an end to it.

      I realized at one point, that I was spending more time writing posts for Not Your Cup of Fashion, rather than my other blog. I was more passionate about being able to have the opportunity to branch out and write about different topics.

      Same! Though, I have a notebook that stays on my dresser drawer, and at the end of the day I will sometimes jot down ideas, or topics that I have come up with throughout the day.

      That is great that you take the time to write when you are inspired, too. Life is funny like that. You always come up with the best ideas when you least expect it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. haha yes, I think that posts will be more worth when you can write what your heart want to talk about, instead of trying to push out words. Though I do understand that if we want to do this professionally we have to produce somehow… If I were to do this fulltime, I’d probably preschedule as much as possible. But posting everyday seems difficult to me…
        haha yes, ideas always come when you are supposed to do other things or supposed to be focusing on other things. I remember when I was in college and that I had to study, I would have the best ideas. But after the exams, I would absolutely forget what those ideas were. So now I just write it down in the moment, when the creative juice is flowing. Even by the evening the feeling has dulled…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

