Makeup: Past, Present & Future (Everything Eyeshadow)

image

In anticipation of my Sephora order that will be arriving next week, I thought it’d be fun to talk about some of the makeup products that I have purchased in the past, my current makeup, and future makeup products that are either on the way in an order that I’ll review, or on my ultimate makeup wishlist.

The title of this blog series will be ‘Makeup: Past, Present, & Future’, and each article will focus on different makeup categories such as eyeshadows, blushes, foundations, lip products, brushes, highlighters, primers, and more. I’ll also have a ‘Beauty: Past, Present, & Future’ series which will focus on skin care, and ‘Hair Care: Past, Present, & Future’ that will review favorite hair products to keep your hair looking fabulous!

Without further ado, this week’s category will be ‘Everything Eyeshadow’.

PAST

  • Rimmel: Glam Eyes Trio (I used this mini set of eyeshadows forever ago when I was in high school. I can’t remember the exact product name of shades, but it was composed of mostly neutrals and browns.)
  • Revlon: Illuminance Cream Shadow (Not Just Nudes) 
    • Very creamy
    • Thick consistency
    • Light pigmentation
  • Maybelline: Eye Studio Color Plush Silk Eyeshadow Quad (Purple Icon)
    • My favorite drugstore eyeshadow!
    • Silky smooth consistency.
    • Highly pigmented.
    • Lasts for hours without a primer
    • Blends beautifully.
  • Maybelline Color Tattoo: (Electric Blue) & (Inked in Pink)
    • A lot of people rave about the shade ‘Bad to the Bronze’. Personally, I haven’t tried that one, but the other two colors that I did try felt too thick in consistency for me and the product dried up too quickly.
    • Bottom line: I personally wouldn’t repurchase.
  • Urban Decay: Ammo Shadow Box Eyeshadow Palette
    • My first Urban Decay eyeshadow palette.
    • Fell in love with the shades: Last Call, Maui Wowie, Mildew, and Smog.
    • Highly pigmented
    • Lots of metallics
  • Urban Decay: Naked Eyeshadow Palette 
    • Years ago, I couldn’t decide between the original ‘Naked’ palette and ‘Naked 3’, but after asking an Ulta associate what her recommendation would be, I ultimately chose the original.
    • I loved the shades: Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar, Buck, Smog, Darkhorse, and Toasted, but found myself not using much of Half Baked, or Creep. I only used Creep for defining the outer corner of my eye.
    • The pigmentation was amazing, but was it worth the $54.00? It depends. While it’s a great eyeshadow palette for neutrals, nowadays, there are a lot of other neutral palettes that are duplicates for the entire Urban Decay: Naked eyeshadow palette line. Makeup Revolution: Iconic Redemption palettes in 1, 2, and 3 are very similar copies and are only $7.00 each.
    • However, the Makeup Revolution mattes in their Iconic 3 Redemption palette were not as buttery as Urban Decay.
  • Urban Decay: Shadow Box Eyeshadow Palette 
    • At the time that I bought it, I believe it was about $34.00, or $36.00 at Ulta. I thought it was a good price for Urban Decay shadows, so I picked it up because of that, and because it had a few jewel toned eyeshadows.
    • In the end, I barely used the palette because the colors were not as pigmented, or flattering as I thought they would be for shades such as Flash and Freelove, and Bordello on my skin tone.
    • I ended up passing the palette on to a family member.
  • Makeup Revolution: Iconic 3 Redemption Eyeshadow Palette 
    • The metallics were very pigmented and beautiful. They mimic the quality of a lot of high end eyeshadows. So many compliments from strangers when creating eyeshadow looks with these!
    • The matte shades were slightly patchy, and not as buttery as Urban Decay, but still had a light to medium pigmentation when built up.

PRESENT

  • Bronx Eyeshadow Palette (customized with baked single eyeshadows)
  • Too Faced: White Chocolate Chip Palette 
  • Tarte: Tartelette Tease
    • By far my favorite neutrals palette. I’ve found that even when I had my Urban Decay: Naked palette and Tartelette Tease palette at the same time last year, I chose Tarte more often.
    • Used all of the shade Whisper, which lasted 6 months.
  • Catrice: Velvet Matt Eyeshadow (040 Al Burgundi)
    • Extremely pigmented for a matte eyeshadow, even in comparison to BFF from the Tartelette Tease.
    • Great for a winged eyeshadow look.
    • Defining the outer corner of the eye.
    • Perfect for blending.
  • Urban Decay (Midnight Cowboy) deluxe birthday sample from Ulta
    • A perfectly pigmented glittery shadow that also works well topped over a blush on the eyes.
    • Has a tiny bit of fallout, but can be avoided with using a sponge applicator, fingers, or brushing off excess before applying foundation and concealer.

FUTURE

  • KIKO MILANO: Water Eyeshadow (On my wishlist)
    • 209 Olive Green
    • 213 Dark Slate Green
    • 228 Taupe
  • Chantecaille: Protect the Wolves Eye Shade Trio (Wishlist)
    • Saw reviews on YouTube, and pictures on Google of the third shade in the palette called Evergreen which looks gorgeous!
  • Charlotte Tilbury: ‘Luxury Palette’ Colour-Coded Eyeshadow Palette (Wishlist)
    • The Glamour Muse (mostly purple eyeshadows)
    • The Rebel (green eyeshadows)
  • Makeup Revolution: Fortune Favors the Brave (Wishlist)
    • I’ve been wanting to try this palette since last July, but am a bit hesitant due to some saying it does not have great pigmentation, and others saying that it performs better with an eyeshadow primer or wet brush.
    • I love the variety of eyeshadow colors from the pictures. It ranges from neutrals, olive greens, deep teals, pinks, and purples, and some blues. It’s literally every shade that I could ever want in a palette. One day, I’ll cave in and purchase it, I am sure.

Not Your Cup of Fashion 

Leave a Reply

